Indulge is the verb of the day.

29 Apr

in·dulge  (n-dlj)

v. in·dulgedin·dulg·ingin·dulg·es
v.tr.

1. To yield to the desires and whims of, especially to an excessive degree; humor.
2.

a. To yield to; gratify: indulge a craving for chocolate.
b. To allow (oneself) unrestrained gratification: indulged herself with idle daydreams.
So I just thought I would share a couple of my “indulgences” with you today…since it involves liquor…on a Sunday. :) I am pretty sure the state of Texas would frown on this, but pretend that you are reading this on a Monday. A crazy, busy, hectic Monday. If you HAVE had a crazy, busy, hectic Monday, then it may call for you to sit back and relax after a long day and indulge in a treat.
Or in this case, wake up and start your day off by indulging. I never do that. But I thought I would post this in case some of you do.

INDULGE #1 
Seriously here are four things that I LOVE.
1. Coffee Mate Italian Sweet Cream creamer. (They have this in Fat Free too, but only in the small size. I had a coupon for the large size, so bring it on.) This stuff is the bomb-diggity.  I keep trying new flavors and wasting my money. I always go back to this creamer.
2. Whipped Cream Vodka.  Y’all, this stuff is SO GOOD. A friend introduced me to this. I am normally not a vodka fan, but I really do like this stuff, and it’s really inexpensive compared to most liquors. (If you are fancy and feel the need to spend money, well by all means buy Pinnacle brand or something.)
3. Starbucks Blonde Veranda Blend. Delicious, smooth, subtle.
4.  Joulies-Magic beans that cool your coffee to the right temperature faster and then keep it there longer. Made in USA from 85% recycled stainless steel using hydro power from Niagara Falls. Click the link to visit the website and learn more. There is a video and everything.
I bought these hoping they work, and they do! I don’t like drinking my coffee without them! It seriously makes my coffee the perfect temperature and I don’t have to heat it up over and over. (Because I have two small children…and sometimes I have to do things like clean poop off of walls instead of drinking the hot cup of coffee I just brewed.)
Now, use all of these things TOGETHER and you won’t be sorry.
I usually use my reusable K-cup to brew a cup of coffee, and add a splash of sweet cream creamer and some whipped cream vodka. (Probably about 1 oz. Nothing major. However, if you are a lush, then you would add more…obviously.)


INDULGE #2

1. Pepsi Max–I really like this stuff. I am not a “diet” coke kind of girl (And yes, in Texas all “sodas” are “cokes”) Anyway, this stuff tastes better than diet with fewer calories than regular. It’s 60 calories for 12 oz.

2. McCormick Whipped Cream Vodka. (see above)

Now mix these two together. I just pour some coke over ice and then add the whipped cream vodka to taste. It tastes like a vanilla coke. YUM!

INDULGE #3 

Pour your coke, whipped cream vodka mix over a scoop of ice cream to make a grown-up coke float. Coke floats remind me of spending the night at my Nannies house when I was little. (Minus the vodka, of course. :))



INDULGE #4

Smoked Salsa and chips

Don’t think I am a weirdo, just try it! I feel like I am a bit of a salsa expert. I have spent my whole life on the quest for the perfect salsa…almost like searching for the holy grail. I think I have found it! I do realize that everyone has a preference when it comes to salsa. Some prefer more cilantro, some more onions, etc. This is MY favorite way of making salsa. Adjust it to fit your flavor profile.  Something magical happens when you smoke this salsa vs. just simmering on the stove. TRUST ME. (Unless YOU are a weirdo and don’t like smoked foods. And in that case, we are kicking you out of Texas.)

Smoked Salsa
4 whole medium tomatoes
1/2 medium sweet white onion, cut in chunks
6 whole jalapeños or 3 whole serranos (use the latter for a hotter salsa)
5 cloves garlic
1 tsp. salt, or to taste
1 tsp. white vinegar
2 tsp. vegetable oil
1/2 c. water
cilantro

Put all of the ingredients, except the cilantro, in a  heavy pot, and place the pot (uncovered) in a smoker for 1 1/2 to 2 hours, or until the vegetables are soft. (Do not allow the sauce to become dry; add more water if needed.) Remove pot from smoker. Blend the mixture, along with a handful of cilantro, in the blender for a few seconds.  Adjust the salt to taste. Store in an airtight container in refrigerator (will keep about 2 weeks). Yield: 2 cups. Note: For a thicker salsa, combine 1 T. cornstarch with 2 T. water, and drizzle the mixture into the salsa while it’s still hot. Simmer on low heat for 5 to 10 minutes until salsa reaches the desired thickness. If it becomes too thick, simply add a bit more water.

(I never thicken it, I think it’s the perfect consistency for me. I also ALWAYS double or triple the recipe because it doesn’t last long!)

So that’s it! Just thought I would share with you what I prefer to spend my calories on! :)

One Response to “Indulge is the verb of the day.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Overachiever Margarita « olivegypsy - May 5, 2012

    [...] with Smoked Salsa and chips if you want to REALLY celebrate Cinco de Mayo! Cinco de Mayo makes me think of Puebla, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

