Salted Caramel Sauce

9 Jan
Earlier this year, I had surgery to remove my wisdom teeth. I decided not to have the anesthesia since it costs more, and let’s just say that if I had to do it over again… drug me up! Maybe I am a wimp, but it was HORRIBLE. I decided I would rather go through labor again. (Although, I am sure that if I were actually in labor, I would be thinking I’d rather have the wisdom tooth extraction.)
Anyway, while I was laid up in bed, I realized that we had the cooking channel for free that week. WOOHOO! I caught an episode of Kelsey Nixon’s show called “Kelsey’s Essentials“, and she made salted caramel sauce. And even though I was in pain, throwing up, and bleeding.. I still wanted to make salted caramel sauce. SO, I finally did! I used her recipe as a base, and made a couple of changes. (More salt and butter….what?! In my defense, the butter that I bought came in 4 TBSP sections, so I was lazy and threw it all in.) Had I known how easy this really was, or how delicious, I would have made it sooner.
I’ve been adding a bit to my coffee in the morning, with a splash of creamer. It takes the place of sugar…just tastier! You can do whatever you want to with this. It makes a great topper for ice cream or cheesecake, or whatever your heart desires! 🙂

Salted Caramel Sauce

INGREDIENTS

1 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
3/4 cup heavy cream
4 tablespoons unsalted butter
1-1/4 teaspoons kosher salt
DIRECTIONS
In a saucepan, combine the sugar and water. Bring the mixture to a slow boil without stirring.(While your sugar mixture is on the stove get all of your other ingredients measured and ready to add.) Continue to boil the sugar water (about 5-6 minutes) until it reaches an amber color. Remove mixture from heat and carefully whisk in the heavy cream. The mixture will harden for a few seconds and bubble up, but continue to whisk until everything is smooth. Stir in the butter and salt. Transfer to a mason jar and enjoy!


Leave a Reply

