How NOT to potty train your child…

11 Mar

Ok, so we have been trying to potty train MK now for a while. It has been DIFFICULT. Addison, my oldest daughter, was a BREEZE when it came to potty training. I was almost spoiled to it. She was wearing big girl panties at her 2nd birthday. She still had to wear a Pull-Up during the night, but during the day, she was COMPLETELY potty trained. I just told her what to do, and she did it. No questions asked, no problems at all.

THEN, here cam MK. She is 2-1/2, and up until recently, she has NOT wanted to have anything to do with potty training. She has told me, “No Mom, I baby. I no tee-tee in the potty.” SO aggravating. No matter what I have tried, nothing has worked.  We decided to do the potty sticker chart….nothing. I bribed with M&M’s…nothing. I told her we would buy her a new baby doll…nothing. I told her if she is a big girl, she can get a new big girl bed… nothing. *SIGH*

So with all of that being said, she decided yesterday to do #2 in her Pull-up. Knowing I would be aggravated at her, she decided to change her Pull-Up herself. NOT a good idea. Needless to say, I had to clean up several places all over her rug…and she had poop all the way over her leg.. thigh to ankle. OMG.  I had had enough. I told her “That’s IT! No more. Next time you poo-poo in your Pull-Up, I am going to take it and smear it ALL over you… your arms, your legs, your face. We will see how you like THAT!” (OF COURSE, I would never do that…it was a totally empty threat…which she took to heart.) She seriously looked at me and said, “THAT”S NO FAIR.”  I said, “Do you think it’s fair that I have to clean up poop from your carpet, from your clothes, and everything??!” End of discussion. I left the room after I cleaned it up, and decided to go grab a margarita.

BUT—I GUESS IT WORKED! That was only yesterday, and TODAY she has gone to the potty TWICE! I didn’t even know she was going. She went in there all by herself, pulled her little step stool up to the big potty, and went! Now, I realize this is probably not the best way to potty train your child, threatening to smear poop on them from head to toe, but I will say that it was effective!! Woohoo!! 🙂

(However, she did say “YAY!!!! Now I get M&M’s, a sticker, a new dolly, a new carseat, and a big girl bed!!” UH-OH. )

6 Responses to “How NOT to potty train your child…”

  1. Cassidy March 11, 2012 at 3:03 am #

    Love it!

  2. Dusty Heels March 11, 2012 at 3:34 am #

    HAHAHAHA! That is awesome! I’m about to embark on the 3 Day Potty Training Adventure with my son so if I get to this point…I may try your approach, margarita and all!

  3. Melissa March 11, 2012 at 3:56 am #

    This is CLASSIC!!!!! 🙂

  4. Tiffany March 11, 2012 at 5:03 am #

    Haha! Hilarious!

  5. Jennifer Cook March 11, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    Now that was too FUNNY! I’m pretty sure your words were pretty effective and even if the intention wasn’t there it was still a good threat! I died laughing because through reading it I thought that would totally be me if I would have had problems with either one of my girls!!!

  6. Shai November 1, 2012 at 4:17 am #

    Still struggling on mine!

Leave a Reply

