Frosted Sugar Cookies for Easter

5 Apr

I decided to make some sugar cookies for Easter this year. I was going to make sugar cookies with royal icing and really decorate them up cute.. with maybe  some chicks or maybe some  Easter eggs…but instead I took the easy way out and made these rosette cookies! They are super simple and SUPER DELISH. 🙂

I really wanted to make them pastel colors, which would be more Easter-ish… but I was very heavy handed with the food coloring. OOPS! I also don’t like to waste frosting because HELLO, it’s delicious and that’s just wrong, so I scooped out the remaining frosting with a butter knife, spread it on some cookies and added sprinkles. The sprinkle cookies were the ones that my girls were going crazy for of course.

Hope everyone has a HAPPY EASTER and remember that Easter is not about eggs or cookies, but to celebrate the fact that Jesus is RISEN! 🙂

Here are the recipes I used:

Sugar Cookie Recipe

(From: i am baker)

Ingredients

  1. 1-½ cup Butter (I Use Unsalted)
  2. 2 cups Sugar
  3. 2 whole Eggs
  4. 2 whole Eggs Yolks
  5. 4 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  6. 2 teaspoons Almond Extract
  7. 4 cups All-purpose Flour
  8. 1 teaspoon Salt
  9. 1 teaspoon Baking Powder

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a mixer, beat butter and sugar until well combined, about 2 minutes.
  3. Add in 2 eggs and 2 egg yolks and mix until combined.
  4. Add in vanilla and almond extract; mix until combined.
  5. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, salt, and baking powder. Slowly (about a cup at a time) add flour to butter mixture and combine. You can use a mixer or not, just depends on how strong you are.
  6. I usually just mix ingredients until they are combined, as I have heard that if you over-mix this dough it will get tough.
  7. Put dough in some Saran wrap and refrigerate for at least one hour. When you are ready to bake, heat oven to 350 degrees. Roll dough out, cut out cookies, and bake for 5 minutes.

Decorator’s Frosting

1 bag powder sugar (two pounds or about eight cups)

1 cup shortening (I used original Crisco)

1 tsp vanilla extract (use clear if want white frosting)

1 tsp butter flavoring

1/2 cup milk

Cream shortening, vanilla extract, and butter flavoring in mixer for 2-4 minutes. Add in powder sugar, one cup at a time. If you find your mixer struggling, slowing add in milk. Use more milk for a creamy consistency, use less milk for a stiff consistency.

I played around with the icing consistency. The yellow icing was really perfect..without adding more milk.  When I was first decorating, I thought it needed to be thinner, so I added more milk. The icing didn’t set up nearly as well as I wanted it to. You can see on the pink and blue cookies the roses are not as defined.

I wanted the frosting to be a “crusting” frosting so that after a day or two, the frosting gets…well, crusty! Haha 🙂 That is why I am making these cookies TODAY vs. Saturday.

My husband taste tested one..and gave them a thumbs up! (He’s by far the biggest food critic I know, so YAY!)

One Response to “Frosted Sugar Cookies for Easter”

  1. Jane C April 5, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    If I wasn’t in Hawaii right now I would so come and steal some cookies !!!

Leave a Reply

