Craftapalooza

28 Jul

It has been Craftapalooza 2012 over at my house over the last couple of weeks. I have been making things left and right for baby showers,  gifts, and orders!

This is a baby blanket that I have been making for a baby shower. I saw the colors that the nursery was going to be done in, and this is what I came up with. I used the tutorial for this blanket and added some extras, like a border and some applique flowers.

DSC_0007
DSC_0008

I made this crochet case for a sweet friend who also likes to crochet. I “kind of” used this pattern. The reason I say “kind of” is because I got really confused after I made the spine, so I just started making up stitches. It worked! I also decided to change colors so that the inside would be rainbow instead of one solid color…because rainbows make me happy! 🙂

DSC_0007

The outside cover called for an “X” type of stitch that left a lot of holes. I didn’t want the inside of the crochet case to show through, so I did a star stitch for the cover.

DSC_0008

DSC_0012

This is a star stitch:

woolco-star-stitch

AND now onto ORIGAMI! 🙂 Yes, I LOVE origami. Here are a couple of origami baby mobiles that I made. Let me tell you folks, origami is not for the faint of heart! I am totally serious. I basically charge $3 a star when I make an origami mobile, because this takes FOREVER. (I also included some small Origami Lucky Stars in this mobile. I don’t charge$3 for those.) First you have to fold the paper about 500 times (Okay, maybe I am exaggerating a little.), and then you have to string them all up. I make sure that I secure all of the strands with crimping beads so nothing comes loose.

DSC_0013
DSC_0012

This mobile was made because someone requested cranes and tons of colors, in addition to the stars.

DSC_0002
DSC_0004

So, if you come over and wonder why my house isn’t clean…it’s because I was in the middle of Craftapalooza 2012!

–Amber 

Leave a Reply

