Happy Birthday & Crochet Gifts

30 Aug

I just finished this scarf for a friend of mine…who is moving to Colorado! 😦 She is going to need it since it is snowy down there in the winter! I am sad to see her go, but she is going with her husband to start-up a new church there, so I guess I will quit being selfish and wish her well with her new endeavor! 🙂

I found the pattern here. I don’t think I got it exactly right, just like the pattern though. There were a couple of “chain 2 spaces” that I couldn’t find. When I was confused, I just looked at the stock photo and figured it out. I am happy with the way it turned out. It’s very girly with all of the scallops. It doesn’t lay flat, and it has some texture to it. I love it.

DSC_0001
DSC_0003

We also celebrated my girls’ birthdays. They turn 5 and 3 this month…already! We decided instead of having an actual party here, we would get a hotel and let them spend the night and swim in the pool. When you are little, this is SUCH a cool thing. 🙂 We took them to eat at the Cheesecake Factory and to shop at the American Girl Store. We invited a couple of friends and my niece to join us, and as a Thank You for coming, I crocheted them these dolly blankets. I used turquoise and orange because it matched the Bitty Babies outfits. I also found these cute Little Miss Muffin mystery packages to attach. It was just too “Birthdayish” with the cupcake package not to include. Plus, it came with a small stuffed animal for their babies, and a cookie cutter. (And I have a cookie cutter addiction…seriously.)
DSC_0009
DSC_0004

My sweet girls with their birthday gifts! Macyn named hers “Katally”  (Ka-Tall-ee…don’t ask. I seriously don’t know where she got this name.) and Addison’s is “Mellie”. Mellie came about because Addison met a new friend named Melody..and this is just how she remembers it and says it. They also call them “Americal dolls” or “Miracle dolls” instead of American Girl Dolls. 🙂 When you are little, words can be confusing!

DSC_0017

My husband works with a fella whose wife makes some AMAZING cupcakes. Seriously, these were the prettiest cupcakes…and the TASTIEST. I am not even kidding. They were so moist and delicious…. and now I am craving another!! *sigh* I might just have to call her up with another special occasion and have her make something else! 🙂
cupcakes

I also ordered outfits for the the girls that matched their dolls outfits. They LOVED matching their dolls.
DSC_0035

Safety first! Addison buckled her doll up in the car with her.
DSC_0047

Here are the girls at the hotel, pretending to sleep. YEAH RIGHT!
DSC_0050

They loved the fact that there was a glass elevator, and they could see out as we went up and down. We took quite a few elevator rides that night. 🙂
DSC_0054

This picture was right before Bethany, my niece, went ecstatic after seeing an In-and-Out Burger through the window as we were riding the elevator. LOL  She cracks me up. She was explaining to the girls how yummy In-and-Out Burger was.
DSC_0057
And… I thought since I was posting so many photos already, I might as well post a few more that I took earlier in the week.

These are a couple of my crochet buddies:

This is Shai (Pronounced “Shy”). She is a pro at crochet. She doesn’t read patterns, but she can look at just about anything and crochet it, which is pretty amazing in my opinion.
DSC_0001

And this is my BFF Cassidy. She is learning to crochet too. See, I told you crochet isn’t JUST for old ladies!
DSC_0002

And of course,  this is me!
DSC_0003

Hope you all have a fantastic week!

–Amber

Leave a Reply

