Mom’s Holiday Dressing

16 Nov

I know everyone has their own version of holiday dressing…or “stuffing” depending on where you are from. Where I am from, we don’t actually “stuff” the Turkey. We have a pan of Southern Cornbread Dressing served along side our turkey. I know everyone thinks that their mom’s dressing is the best, but I personally think MY mom’s dressing is the best. Hey, it was just how I was raised. (We also appreciated the fact that she chopped everything up extremely small so we didn’t bite into big chunks of onion. Now, I have outgrown having this aversion to large pieces of onion…but it is still my preferred way to have dressing.)

Anyway, I thought maybe if you didn’t have any idea how to make dressing, you could try this one out!

dressing(Photo by Lana)

 

Mom’s Holiday Dressing

8 packages of cornbread (cooked according to the directions on the pkg.-not sweet)

1 large white onion, chopped

3 stalks of celery, chopped

½ loaf of bread

½ small bottle of poultry seasoning

3 cans of cream of chicken soup

2 quarts of chicken stock

1 stick of butter

2 Tbsp. salt

1 Tbsp. pepper

4 hard boiled eggs, chopped

6 raw eggs (mixed together in separate bowl)

· Texture should be moist and taste a little salty

· All measurements were approximate

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine all ingredients and mix well. Pour batter into a greased shallow baking dish. Bake for approximately 20 to 25 minutes. (This all depends on the size of your pan, etc. I just take it out of the oven when it is set…like a cake, and not runny any longer.) Remove from oven and let cool.

This makes TONS of dressing…but I have a huge family, and I am not afraid to eat leftovers! 🙂

Enjoy!

–Amber

Leave a Reply

