I Heart Stitching!

22 May

I have been doing some embroidery projects and wanted to share a few.  This is the picture that Macyn picked out for me to stitch for her. I am making a pillow with it. So far, I have the top done! Yay! I will post pics of it when it is completely finished.

DSC_0078

I love hand quilting. It is so pretty! I just like the way it looks vs. machine stitched…even though I am new at it and my stitches aren’t always the right length.

DSC_0080

I used scraps to make to make the patchwork topper!

DSC_0082

I also bought some #8 DMC Perle Cotton. I am really enjoying stitching with it because it’s only one strand. An IG user, Bitsofstitching, introduced me to it. (She also has a blog btw: BitsofStitching)

DSC_0069

DSC_0070

DSC_0071

DSC_0072

DSC_0084

I am also joining in on a Stitch Along with BitsofStitching with this Barney Park Sampler from Charlotte Lyons’ Etsy store. It didn’t come with a stitch guide or anything, so I am just doing whatever stitch I feel like, which was the point of buying it… I would love to learn some new embroidery stitches.  I  am using this website for instructions on new stitches: Rocksea Embroidery.

DSC_0086

Here are some of the stitches I used on the roof: Back Stitch, reverse chain stitch (probably the most common stitch I use), braided chain stitch, buttonhole stitch, satin stitch, feather stitch.

Braided Chain Stitch

For the yellow flower, I used an eyelet stitch and outlined it with a backstitch. I think it made it look like a marigold flower.  I actually ran out of thread on the gray, so its not finished yet. I just had to come to a stopping point because I was stitching at my mother’s house, and we had to pack up to go home! 😉 The leaves are a lazy daisy stitch, and the frame around the window is a raised chain band.

DSC_0067

My girls fight over who this is in the window. They both think it’s a picture of them.  I did lazy daisies on the edges, and the satin stitches outlined with a back stitch in Navy. The coral color is a reverse chain stitch, yellow a back stitch, and gray French knots.

DSC_0066

The tree trunk was a really cool stitch. I used a whipped fly stitch… and outlined the sides in a back stitch.. of course! 🙂

DSC_0090

The pink was supposed to be a pyramid stitch I think, however, I didn’t know that stitch until after I had stitched it. It still looks the same though, but probably would have been neater and easier if I had done it correctly.

DSC_0091

MK is my little model when I am taking picture of my projects. 🙂 She ALWAYS wants me to take photos of her. Hehe.. she even put on her fancy rings.

DSC_0092

DSC_0093

She is explaining that the cat in the sampler is our new kitten,Gatsby…and the dog is our boxer, Dixie….and of course the girl is her.

DSC_0094

If you are interested in doing the “Stitch Along” go visit Charlotte Lyon’s Etsy Shop and grab a sampler! It shipped quickly. 🙂 And you don’t HAVE to get the same one I did, but I think it’s pretty cute. Just tag your photos on Instagram with the tag #housewrenstudio.  If you want to follow me on IG, my user name is barber1029.

Happy Stitching!

3 Responses to “I Heart Stitching!”

  1. Bits of Stitching! May 22, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    Great post on your stitching plans for your sampler,… that website you are using to learn is very informative! Since I have 2 girls, I will be stitching the boy as a girl by changing the hair ;-), maybe that’ll solve your little ones’ arguments as to whom gets to be the girl… LOL. Have fun stitching! Oh… and thanks for the SAL shout out!

    • olivegypsy May 25, 2013 at 2:36 am #

      Absolutely! That is a wonderful idea!! I may be adding two little girls to mine too. 🙂

  2. Bits of Stitching! May 22, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    (forgot to add)… The perle cotton is lovely! You chose great colors. I hope you like stitching with it!

Leave a Reply

