Super Tote Sew-A-Long

7 Sep

I posted on Facebook last night that I wanted to make this bag. I bought the pattern, but I am a little intimidated by it! I REALLY want to make one for myself vs. having someone else do it. But can I?! I don’t know. I enlisted some help from my sewing buddies! We decided that together, we are going to do a “Super Tote Sew-A-Long” or (SAL for you non-bloggers out there.) Anyone want to join??! If you do, hop on over to Noodlehead’s site and purchase the pattern.

Noodlehead Super Tote Patternfront

Here are the material specifications that you need to buy, if you want to go ahead and gather supplies!

Finished Dimensions:
15” wide, 15” tall, 3.5 to 5” deep, 10.5” handle drop
Materials needed:
Requirements based on 44” wide fabric
1/2 yard front/back and exterior pocket
1 yard lining (1 1/2 if fully lining front pocket)
(2) 1/4 yard cuts for straps
2/3 yard exterior gusset (includes interior pocket pieces)
2 1/4 yards fusible interfacing (Pellon SF101)
1 yard Pellon Craft Fuse 808 or 1 yard canvas/duck cloth (optional)
18” zipper for recessed top (optional)
1 yard 1/4” wide elastic
15” of 1/2" piping (handmade or storebought) – optional
14mm magnetic snap or 2” of 3/4” wide hook + loop tape (optional)
** Additional fabric necessary if using a directional print

 

 

I went to my local fabric shop…and found nothing that I wanted to use, so I decided just to bite the bullet and order.  Here is what I decided to order. I have no idea where I am going to use which fabric where, but these are what I picked out. I might add something here and there from my stash, I am not sure.

 

Anna Marie Horner Parenthetical Berry

anmahofistli9

Rashida Coleman-Hale It’s a Plus

its a plus

Robert Kaufman Essex Yarn-dyed Black

RFK

Alison Glass, Sun Print, Feathers Ocean

alglsunprfeo

Anyway, hope you guys decide to join! I will let you know as soon as my fabric gets here, and I will move on to the next phase…cutting my pieces!

Leave a Reply

