Noodlehead Super Tote

26 Sep

I finished my Noodlehead Super Tote! It was a fun pattern, and I feel such a sense of accomplishment now!  You should really go over to her website and purchase the PDF if you are thinking about making one. I promise, if I can do it… you can do it!!!

Without further ado…. here is the photo dump of all of my pics. Can you tell I am proud of it?!

DSC_0015

DSC_0006 - CopyDSC_0011 - CopyDSC_0010 - CopyDSC_0012 - CopyDSC_0013 - Copy

DSC_0016DSC_0017

Now, I had never used a pattern like this, so I was really not sure where to start. I was REALLY confused after printing out the pattern, because the pieces looked so small, but the photo on her website made this tote look big!

What I didn’t realize was that you are supposed to TAPE THE PIECES TOGETHER! LOL seriously… what a dumb mistake. I cut the gusset pieces first, and I knew something had to be amiss, because her photo didn’t have seams around the gusset, and if I cut every piece out, there would be seams all over the place. So anyway, take a tip from me.  #1. Read through the whole pattern first. #2 Re-Read the pattern to make sure you don’t miss the sentence explaining how to tape pieces together. My friend Roxanne was about to do the same thing!

 

I also thought it would help maybe if I put up pics of what pieces I cut out of what fabric. I was HOPING I was doing this right. It was confusing to me to see which pieces went where. I didn’t use her suggested layout, because I wanted it to be really colorful and funky. Here is what I did:

DSC_0021

 DSC_0022DSC_0024

Just a small note on this Koi fabric (above with plus signs on gray back ground), it was ridiculously thin. I had to back every single piece with Pellon 101, which makes this fabric even more expensive than it was in the first place. Boo. But I was afraid not to. I wanted my bag to hold up and I didn’t want anything to rip through my lining.

DSC_0023

DSC_0027

I also wanted to make sure you were able to tell which prints I used. I have already had people asking what fabrics these are. Hopefully this helps!

DSC_0028DSC_0029

The material I used for the gusset was a Robert Kaufman fabric called Essex yarn-dyed linen in black.  Go back a few posts, and I think I linked it when I was planning out my bag. Of course, I added a few extra fabrics from my stash that I wasn’t originally planning on, but I like how it turned out!

shai's

This fabric is what my friend Shai picked out! She is participating in the SAL too, as well as Cassidy!!  As soon as Roxanne gets me her photos, I will post them too… and here is my friend Amy’s! You can hop on over to her blog to see all of her photos! It was so fun doing this pattern with everyone! 🙂

amy's

XOXO-Amber

One Response to “Noodlehead Super Tote”

  1. Amy September 26, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

    Yay! Thanks for the shout out and for getting the ball rolling in this. I enjoyed it and am going to make a fe more bags…perhaps for some Christmas gifts!,,

Leave a Reply

