I am officially a Hooker.

11 Jul

Well, I said it! I do believe I am officially a “Hooker” now. Don’t worry about calling my husband…he knows. He said he hopes I keep up this hobby forever, because it is the first time that I am interested in something that doesn’t cost any money. Well… ya know, besides yarn. Oh wait!! You DID know that I was talking about crochet right?! 🙂

Here are a few things I am working on right now:

This owl. He’s actually finished. I have no idea what I am going to do with him, but I just wanted to see IF I could make an owl. Not too shabby. I think I will make his ears shorter next time. Addison thought it was a pig, before I added the nose and the eyes.

You can find a crochet pattern for this for sale here if you need one: http://www.etsy.com/listing/87023518/crochet-pattern-owl-big-brother-by

Photobucket

I am working on these little gems for a blanket. I found a tutorial online from the Colour in a Simple Life Blog. Fabulous crochet goodness.
Photobucket

This is a granny square that I made from a pattern I found online here: http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/weekend-stockholm

It has a “bumpy” texture that I like. It uses a stitch similar to the popcorn stitch, so the square doesn’t lay completely flat, which I like. I think it gives it character…and it seems like it would be a super comfy blanket if you made a whole blanket out of this. It was a very confusing pattern to read for me though; it did take me QUITE a long time to figure this out, but now that I know what I am doing, it’s a cinch.

Photobucket

I just thought I would show you my workspace: My BED! 🙂 I have everything I need including a Diet Cream Soda, my iPad, cell phone, remote, buttons, thread, needles, yarn…you name it! 😉

Photobucket

I have also convinced a friend of mine, Cassidy, to become a Hooker too. I think she rather enjoys the work.  I see us staying friends when we are old and gray, just laughing and crocheting the day away! (We have joked that we are already turning gray, but we are FAR from old. My idea of “OLD”  has changed over the last few years..hehe 🙂
Photobucket

Leave a comment