Crochet Flower Brooch

17 Jul

What do you think about my new crochet flower brooch? I made this to wear on my jacket at church to brighten up my outfit this past Sunday.

Photobucket

 Supplies: I used all 8-ply yarn for this. For the flower I used “I Love This Cotton” Yarn in shades Buttercup, Pistache, Orangeade, Royalty, and Red. For the leaves I used Caron Simply Soft yarn in shade Pistachio. (Apparently, I really like the pistachio colors.) I used two sizes of needles, sizes F (3.75MM) and size D (3.25MM). I used the size F hook for everything except the borders on the flowers.  Don’t forget a button, sewing needle, sewing thread, and a brooch clasp for the back!

Here is the pattern, written in U.S. terms
Abbreviations are as follows:
ch = chain
sc = single crochet
hdc = half double crochet
dc = double crochet
htc = half treble crochet
tc = treble crochet
Start with a chain ring: Ch 6, then slip stitch in the first chain to form a ring.
1st row: Ch 2 (count as 1 sc), 19 sc in center ring (For a total of 20 sc. It will be a tight squeeze, but you can get them all in there!) Bind off and change colors.
2nd row: Join petal colour to any st, ch3, *skip next st, and into the next st, sc, ch2*
continue around the circle in this fashion and join with a slip stitch into
first ch. (You should have 10 2ch loops around your flower center)
3rd row:Next, slip stitch to the first loop and make a petal into the loop.

 PETAL: 1sc, 1hdc, 2dc, 1tr, 2dc, 1hdc, 1sc.
 Make 5 petals around your flower, going into every second 2ch loop. Join the last petal to the first with a slipstitch and bind off.
4th row: Switch to your size D hook and outline your flower: Sc around each st, doing 2sc in the top 3 stitches of each petal. Slip stitch across from the last stitch of one petal to the starting sc of the next, and when you have gone around the whole flower, join with a slip stitch and bind off.

(Back Flower)
5th row: Switch back to size F hook and do the back petals. Turn the flower over and find the 2ch loops in between
each petal. Join your second petal colour to any of these loops, and make a PETAL. (The same as the front petals.)

After making the first petal, ch2 behind the front petal to get you to the next 2ch loop, and continue in this manner around the flower until you have 5 back petals made, ch2 across to the first one and join with a slipstitch.
6th row: Switch back to size D hook for the outline of this flower: Join the yarn to any 2ch in between the back petals and slip stitch to a petal. Sc in each st around the petals, doing 2sc in each of the 3 top stitches, the
same as the front petals, and a slipstitch across each 2ch between the petals. Join with a slip stitch and bind off
To make the Leaves:
Chain 13, skip the first stitch, and do the following into the chains: 1sc, 2hdc, 2dc, 1 tr, 1dtr, 1tr, 1dc, 1hdc, 2sc,

and then I worked backwards along the other side of the chain for the second half of the leaf.  You can adjust this to as many or few chains as you like to make a bigger or smaller leaf.
Sew the button on the front and the leaves on the back. (I did this all together.) Then I sewed a brooch clasp on the back.
I saw a tutorial over at the Little Woolie blog and I made mine similar to hers. I changed a few things, but for the most part, it is her pattern. She has a picture tutorial, so if you need to follow along, click the link above. I love her blog and the colors she chooses. I wish she lived close to me so we could crochet together!! 🙂
Hope you have as much fun making this as I did!

-Amber

Leave a comment